library joy

sharing the joy that the library brings

my 10 random things… 2008 December 2

Filed under: Uncategorized — joy @ 2:45 pm

in order to fulfill the goal for helene’s bonus “thing” in Learn & Play @CML, here are 10 random things about me:

  1. i am a classically-trained pianist.
  2. i am ambidextrous. i eat with my left hand but do everything else with my right hand. but i can do everything with my left hand that i can do with the right, even writing. i’m mixed up, i think.
  3. these things freak me out: dolls, puppets, and clowns.
  4. my creative outlet is card-making. i have a whole studio devoted to making art, burning things and soldering.
  5. i <3 dogs and have two of my own, along with 2 cats. i like to give my pets people names ’cause i think it’s funny. my pets are rudy, miss esther, lucy and beatrice.
  6. i want to be a yoga instructor someday.
  7. i started playing the banjo this past april and have done pretty well for a beginner. i’m in a band called The Hawaii 63 and sometimes i’ve been known to “sing” (if you can call it that) about my cat (esther) that hides a lot. oh, and she’s a kitty-ninja.
  8. i love to garden and i like to make outdoor sculptures and art from rusty metal things, especially old farm implements.
  9. yes… i know how to western square dance. it’s not a talent i’m especially fond of, but i might as well come clean about it now before the rumors start.
  10. i love movies that have ray harryhausen’s special effects. stop-motion animation rocks my world. i was raised on rankin-bass christmas specials! i also love godzilla movies.

there you go! all done!

 

7 Responses to “my 10 random things…”

  1. kathy Says:

    dogs rock!
    and i used to square dance myself…*hangs head…
    yay 10 random things!

  2. Jen Says:

    i still love you, even if you can square dance ;o) the song kitty ninja is a total hit. if my 14 year old thinks it is, you can be sure it is. rock on sister!

  3. I loved learning about your 10 random things…. I took voice lessons since I was 12, so I guess I’m classically trained vocalist. I also wanted you to know that I learned today that my husband had dinner with Harryhausen. If we are ever somewhere where you can meet, I’ll try to remember that random thing.

  4. katie Says:

    Very cool 10 things, Joy! Even though I’ve never met you in person, I feel I’ve sort of gotten to know you via Twitter, and these ‘things’ add to the fun! An added bonus of Learn & Play, I guess…
    ;)

  5. helene Says:

    thing I wish i could do better. i never learned to read music, just memorize

  6. Cat Says:

    Wait . . . you don’t like puppets? Puppets? Seriously?

    I’m going to have to reconsider our friendship . . . honestly . . . no puppets?

    . . . wanders off, shaking head in bewilderment . . .

  7. ThunderChyld Says:

    Wow…Aries…rock on!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.